HISTORY:                                                             

Kingcrafts was founded in 1950 by Lady Muriel L. Flavelle and is located  in King City, Ontario .

The original four groups worked out of the basement of the local Anglican Church but outgrew that facility by 1953 so a lot was purchased and a building designed specifically to suit their needs. Kingcrafts was incorporated in 1955 and in 1956 moved into its current home.

The group held its first studio sale in 1952 to raise funds for equipment. Raffle tickets on items donated by Kingcrafts members and sales raised $1200 which allowed them funds to pay for professional instructors to improve skills. This tradition has become an annual event held each November.

The original groups established in 1950 included rug hooking, weaving, smocking and leatherwork.  In 1953 a sketching group was added and in 1954 ceramics and flower arranging joined the thriving organization. Studio groups have evolved over the years to include enamelling, pottery, art, stained glass, decorative arts, modern quilting, needlework, garden arts, beadwork and wire sculpture. Groups continue to change and fluctuate according to demand.

Typically, members work independently at developing their skills but at times they work together on specific projects. It is the shared learning experience, improving both skills and artistry from the wisdom and expertise of one another, that  is most important to the Kingcrafts' family.



 

 MISSION STATEMENT:

The mission statement created in 1951 still accurately articulates our core values:

1) to promote the various crafts in King and the surrounding districts.

2 ) to promote the skill and artistry of those practicing the crafts.                                      

3) to foster a community spirit through the medium of handicrafts.